Alabama State Banking Department
P.O. Box 4600
Montgomery, AL 36103-4600
To register for an Alabama NMLS licensing class call 205-208-0190
The Alabama State Banking Department licenses mortgage loan officers in Alabama and requires 20-hours of pre-licensing education; The national 20-hour class and no additional hours of state law.
All states require a national exam for licensing. Alabama does not require an additional state test, requires no hours of separate state law for those who are currently NMLS-licensed elsewhere, and requires 8 hours of continuing education (CE) annually for NMLS-licensed mortgage loan officers.