Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
The Minnesota Department of Commerce licenses mortgage loan officers in Minnesota and requires 20 hours of pre-licensing education; The national 20-hour class and no additional hours of state law.
All states require a national exam for licensing. Minnesota does require a state test for licensing, requires no hours of separate state law for those who are currently NMLS-licensed elsewhere, and requires 8 hours of continuing education (CE) annually for NMLS-licensed mortgage loan officers.